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The purpose of this policy is to establish clear guidelines, so that all delinquent taxpayers will be treated 
fairly and will know the Town's process for the collection of delinquent taxes. 
 
Upon receipt of the delinquent tax warrant, and each month afterwards, the delinquent tax collector 
shall issue a notice to each delinquent taxpayer indicating the amount of taxes, penalty, and interest 
owed. If the delinquent taxes on real property are not paid in full within thirty (30) days from the first 
notice, or an agreement made, the delinquent tax collector shall seek the authorization of the Select 
Board to record a lien against the property. 
 
By entering into a Delinquent Property Tax Agreement, the Property Tax Payer shall pay· current bill 
amounts on a quarterly basis as they come due. Only payment arrangements which will pay the delinquent 
taxes, in full, before the current year becomes delinquent, that date being May 11th, will be accepted. · 
 
The Delinquent Tax collector shall have the authority to enter into a maximum of two (2) payment 
arrangements with a delinquent taxpayer in a 24 month period. The delinquent taxpayer will be limited 
to two (2) agreements regardless of the number of properties that are delinquent on taxes. ~ 
 
 Mortgage holders and lien holders shall be notified of the delinquent taxes thirty (30) days after 
the first notice has been sent to the taxpayer, and again prior to a tax sale. 
 
Partial payments shall be applied first to the eight percent (8%) penalty fee, then to the interest portion 
of the amount due, and the remainder shall be applied to the principal amount of the delinquent tax. 
 
 If the amount due is less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), and no satisfactory payment 
arrangements have been made within one (1) month, or if a prior payment agreement has not been 
satisfactorily completed, the delinquent tax collector may file a 
claim through a small claims complaint. 
 
 If the amount due is Five Hundred ($500.00), or more, and no satisfactory payment 
arrangements have been made in one (1) month, or if the prior agreement has not been met, the 
delinquent tax collector shall begin the following actions to conduct a tax sale of the property, or as 
much of the property as is necessary to pay the tax, plus costs and fees: 
 
The collector shall notify the taxpayer and all mortgage and lien holders of the tax sale decision, the date 
by which full payment must be received, and the costs to expect once the sale process begins. 
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 If the deadline date has passed and full payment has not been received, the Delinquent Tax 
Collector, who shall conduct a tax sale according to the procedures specified in Title 32, Section 5252, 
of the Vermont Statutes Annotated. 

 
 
Costs of preparing and conducting the sale, including legal fees up to a maximum fifteen percent 
(15%) of the amount of the delinquent tax, shall be charged to the delinquent taxpayer. Tax sales may 
be carried out by a licensed attorney or a clerk that is employed and/or covered by a licensed 
attorney or the delinquent tax collector at the discretion of the Delinquent Tax Collector. 
 

Each taxpayer has the right to apply for abatement of property taxes, based upon the provisions listed 
in Title 24, Section 1535, of the Vermont Statutes Annotated. 
 
 In the event that no one purchases the property at tax sale, or if, in the judgment of the 
delinquent tax collector, proceeding with the tax sale is inadvisable, the delinquent tax collector shall 
collect the delinquent taxes using any or all of the methods permitted by law. 
 
Dated at Town of Fair Haven, County of Rutland, State of Vermont, this 24th day of September 2019:

 


